Welsh Dragon

Free Entry to Cadw sites across Monmouthshire for St. David's Day 2020

Celebrate St David's Day in Monmouthshire in 2020 on Sunday 1st March with free entry to all of Cadw's sites - Chepstow Castle, Raglan Castle & Tintern Abbey. They're all close enough to visit in a day (sites are open 9.30am - 5pm) so make the most of this chance to experience Welsh history, for free!

If that's not enough, there's also a host of Cadw sites that are always free to visit, including the Marcher castles of Grosmont, Skenfrith & White Castle and the 2000 year old Roman town of Caerwent.

Tickets must be booked in advance. Visit the Cadw Website for details.

Back to the Visit Monmouthshire blog

Visit a Monmouthshire Castle

Chepstow Castle

Chepstow Castle (Cadw)

Beautifully preserved Chepstow Castle stretches out along a limestone cliff above the River Wye like a history lesson in stone.

Tintern Abbey

Tintern Abbey (Cadw)

Tintern Abbey is a national icon – still standing in roofless splendour on the banks of the River Wye nearly 500 years since its tragic fall from grace.

Raglan Castle

Raglan Castle (Cadw)

The unmistakable silhouette of Raglan crowning a ridge amid glorious countryside is the grandest castle ever built by Welshmen.

See all the Cadw sites in Monmouthshire

Events at the Monmouthshire Cadw sites

Chepstow Castle Easter Egg Hunt

Easter Trail

Chepstow

Sat 4 - Sun 19 Apr 2020

Tintern Abbey by Turner

Wordsworth, Tintern and the Romantics

Tintern

Tue 7 - Wed 8 Apr 2020

Raglan Castle

Historia Normannis: Life in the Marches

Raglan

Sat 11 - Mon 13 Apr 2020

© Crown copyright (2017) Cadw, Welsh Government

Falconry

Tintern

Sat 11 - Sun 12 Apr 2020

Brother Thomas

Brother Thomas, the Cellarer

Tintern

Sat 18 Apr 2020

Dog Friendly Tintern

Tintern is Dog Friendly Walk

Tintern

Sun 19 Apr 2020

Brother Thomas

Brother Thomas, the Cellarer

Tintern

Sat 30 May 2020

Macbeth at Raglan Castle

Macbeth at Raglan Castle

Raglan

Thu 4 Jun 2020

Macbeth at Tintern Abbey

Macbeth at Tintern Abbey

Tintern

Fri 5 Jun 2020

Brother Thomas

Brother Thomas, the Cellarer

Tintern

Sat 20 Jun 2020

Brother Thomas

Brother Thomas, the Cellarer

Tintern

Sat 25 Jul 2020

© Crown copyright (2017) Cadw, Welsh Government

Falconry

Tintern

Sat 25 - Sun 26 Jul 2020

Castell Roc

Castell Roc 2020

Chepstow

Thu 13 - Sun 30 Aug 2020

Fleetwood Bac

Fleetwood Bac

Chepstow

Thu 13 Aug 2020

Brother Thomas

Brother Thomas, the Cellarer

Tintern

Sat 15 Aug 2020

© Crown copyright (2017) Cadw, Welsh Government

Falconry

Tintern

Sat 22 - Sun 23 Aug 2020

A Night of Queen

A Night of Queen

Chepstow

Fri 28 Aug 2020

Craig Charles Funk and Soul

Craig Charles Funk & Soul

Chepstow

Sat 29 Aug 2020

Brother Thomas

Brother Thomas, the Cellarer

Tintern

Sat 19 Sep 2020

Tintern Abbey by Turner

Wordsworth, Tintern and the Romantics

Tintern

Sun 20 Sep 2020